Field note · Company Reviews

Goldco vs American Hartford Gold vs Noble Gold: What Each One Actually Publishes

Three heavily marketed gold IRA dealers, checked against their own public disclosures on August 30, 2026 - what each publishes, what none of them publish, and the questions that close the gap.

Three dealers joined the Gold Unpacked tracked list this month: Goldco, American Hartford Gold, and Noble Gold Investments. All three compete for the same reader — someone with a 401(k) or IRA balance who is considering moving part of it into physical precious metals.

This article is not a ranking. It is a record of what each company publishes about itself, checked against its own public pages on August 30, 2026, and a list of the questions that close the gap between that material and an actual purchase decision. Where a figure is a company claim rather than an independently verified fact, it is labelled as one.

Key Takeaways

  • All three dealers describe gold and silver IRA services, direct purchase of physical metal, and a buyback arrangement of some kind.
  • None of the three publishes an account minimum, a setup fee, an annual administration fee, a storage charge, or a premium over spot. That is the single most important finding here.
  • Goldco advertises tiered bonus silver on qualifying order sizes. Bonus metal is funded from the economics of the order, so it is a pricing question, not a gift.
  • American Hartford Gold states it charges no additional liquidation fee on a sellback, while stopping short of guaranteeing repurchase.
  • Noble Gold names a Texas depository option and offers home delivery alongside IRA storage.
  • Ratings and review counts cited on dealer sites are marketing inputs. Verify accreditation and complaint records at the source before weighing them.

What Each Dealer Publishes

The table below reflects each company’s own public pages on the date checked. “Not published” means the figure was absent, not that it does not exist.

GoldcoAmerican Hartford GoldNoble Gold Investments
Stated locationNot stated on the public siteLos Angeles, CaliforniaEncino, California
Year foundedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Gold and silver IRAYesYesYes
Other metalsNot statedPlatinumPlatinum, palladium, rare coins
Direct (non-IRA) purchaseYesYes, physical deliveryYes, home delivery
Account minimumNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Setup and annual feesNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Storage costNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Named depositoryNot statedNot statedTexas depository option named
BuybackBuyback program statedBuyback commitment, no added liquidation fee, repurchase not guaranteedBuyback program stated
Public promotionTiered bonus silver on qualifying ordersCurrent specials referenced, terms not publishedNot stated

Goldco

Goldco is the most heavily advertised of the three. Its public pages describe gold IRA accounts, silver IRA accounts, and direct purchase of coins, and the company states it operates a buyback program.

The site’s most prominent public offer is tiered bonus silver. As stated on goldco.com on August 30, 2026: up to 5% back in free silver on qualifying purchases between $50,000 and $99,999, and 10% on purchases of $100,000 or more, described overall as up to 10% in bonus silver.

Read that as a discount mechanism rather than a bonus. A dealer that gives away 10% of order value in silver has priced that silver into the transaction somewhere, and the place it usually lands is the premium over spot on the gold you are buying. The comparison that settles it is simple: ask Goldco and one competitor to quote the same coin, same weight, same quantity, and compare the total dollars per ounce — with the promotion included on one side.

Goldco’s site also carries a set of company claims: a Better Business Bureau A+ rating, more than 8,000 five-star customer reviews, star ratings from Google and Consumer Affairs, and a statement that it has helped place more than $3 billion in gold and silver. These are the company’s own figures. Accreditation and complaint history can be checked directly at the BBB, and review counts are worth reading for the substance of individual complaints rather than for the average.

What is not on the site: no fee schedule, no account minimum, and no named custodian or depository. Since the custodian administers your account and the depository holds the metal, those two names matter — see our guide to gold IRA custodians for what each party is actually responsible for.

American Hartford Gold

American Hartford Gold is the one dealer of the three we cover in depth, in a dedicated American Hartford Gold review. Its public pages state a Los Angeles headquarters on Wilshire Boulevard, with additional locations in Woodland Hills, California and West Palm Beach, Florida.

Products described include gold, silver, and platinum coins, bars, and rounds; self-directed gold IRAs and gold SEP IRAs; and a choice between physical delivery and IRA storage.

Its buyback language is the most carefully worded of the three, and that precision is worth reading closely. The company asks clients to contact it first when selling, states it charges no additional liquidation fees, and describes a three-step liquidation process — while explicitly noting it cannot legally guarantee repurchase.

That is an honest construction, and it also illustrates why guaranteed-buyback claims in this industry need care. What protects you at exit is not a promise to buy; it is the spread — the difference between the dealer’s sell price and its buy price on the same item on the same day. A no-fee liquidation with a wide spread costs more than a small fee with a narrow one.

The site also carries company claims of an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, five-star ratings on Trustpilot and Google, multiple Inc. 5000 appearances, and more than 200 employees. Promotional current specials are referenced without published terms. As with the other two, no fee schedule and no account minimum appear publicly.

Noble Gold Investments

Noble Gold Investments states an Encino, California address and names Collin Plume as president and chief executive. It is the smallest of the three by public profile and is commonly positioned around lower entry points, though no minimum is published on its site.

Its stated product range is the broadest of the three: gold and silver bars and coins, platinum and palladium coins, rare coins, IRA accounts, and home delivery of physical metal. It names a Texas depository as a storage option — the only one of the three to name a depository publicly.

Two items on that list deserve a second look before you act on them.

Rare coins. Collectible and semi-numismatic coins carry far higher markups than ordinary bullion, and they sit at the center of the most frequently reported problem in this market. Nothing about offering them is improper; being steered into them after your rollover funds is the pattern to watch. Our gold IRA scams piece documents how that switch typically happens.

Home delivery. Buying metal for direct personal possession is perfectly legal. Taking personal possession of metal held inside an IRA is not — it is treated as a distribution. Keep the two purchase types cleanly separated, and read home storage gold IRA before anyone suggests otherwise.

Noble Gold states a buyback program under which it will repurchase metal it sold. As above, the exit question is the spread, not the promise.

What None of Them Publish

Strip away the branding and the three sites converge on the same omission. Not one publishes:

  1. A premium over spot. The percentage above the metal’s market price you pay on a specific coin. This is usually the largest single cost in a gold IRA and it is never printed.
  2. An account minimum. Widely repeated by third-party review sites, stated by none of the three.
  3. A setup or annual administration fee. Typically billed by the custodian, not the dealer — which is exactly why you must ask who bills what.
  4. A storage and insurance charge. Billed by the depository, and structured either commingled or segregated at different prices.
  5. A buyback spread. What the same item is worth back to the dealer today.

This is normal for the category rather than unique to these three, and our gold IRA fees breakdown explains each layer. But it does mean any article claiming to rank these dealers on cost is working from numbers the dealers did not publish. We are not going to do that.

The Questions That Produce the Missing Numbers

Every figure above is obtainable. It just has to be asked for, in writing, before you authorise anything.

  • “What is the spot price you are using right now, what is the unit price of this coin, and what percentage over spot is that?”
  • “Please email me an itemised quote showing spot, unit price, quantity, and every fee, before I fund the account.”
  • “Which custodian administers the account and which depository holds the metal? Which of those charges is billed by them and which by you?”
  • “What is the minimum to open, and does it change if I add to the account later?”
  • “If I sold this exact item back to you tomorrow, what would you pay relative to spot, and is there any fee on top?”
  • “Is the storage commingled or segregated, and what does each cost per year?”
  • “Are you recommending bullion or collectible coins, and what is the premium difference between them?”

A dealer that answers all seven in writing has given you a real comparison. A dealer that will not put a premium over spot in an email has told you something too.

Where This Leaves the Three

Goldco competes on visibility and promotional volume. American Hartford Gold uses the most precise buyback language and is the only one of the three with a dedicated review on this site. Noble Gold offers the widest product range including collectibles, and names a depository option publicly.

That is genuinely all the public record supports. The dealer that is cheapest for you depends on the premium over spot on your specific order, the custodian and depository fees attached to your specific balance, and the spread you face when you eventually sell — three numbers that vary by order, and none of which appear on any of the three websites.

Run the same written-quote request past all three, plus the two dealers in our Augusta and Birch comparison. Then use our gold IRA calculator to see what the resulting fee structures do to your balance over a realistic holding period. The comparison that matters is the one built from the quotes you collect, not the one printed on anybody’s homepage.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, Goldco, American Hartford Gold, or Noble Gold?

None of the three publishes the numbers that would settle it. As of August 30, 2026 no account minimum, no fee schedule, and no premium-over-spot figure appears on any of their public sites. The better dealer is whichever one puts those figures in writing for your specific order, and the comparison cannot be made honestly before that.

Do Goldco, American Hartford Gold, or Noble Gold publish their fees?

No. All three describe their gold IRA services in detail while leaving setup, annual administration, storage, and insurance costs off the public site. Those charges are typically billed by the custodian and depository rather than the dealer, so ask which party bills each line and request the schedule in writing.

Is a free silver or bonus metal offer a good deal?

Treat it as a pricing question rather than a gift. Bonus metal is funded out of the economics of the order it is attached to, so the figure that matters is still the premium over spot on the metal you are actually buying. Compare the same coin at the same weight across dealers with and without the promotion.

Why does Gold Unpacked track these dealers without ranking them?

Ranking requires comparable data, and the public disclosures are not comparable. We track what each company states, date the observation, and publish the questions that produce the missing figures. A dedicated review exists for American Hartford Gold; Goldco and Noble Gold are tracked but not yet compared in depth.