Dealer comparison · Augusta vs. Birch

Gold IRA Specialists Showdown

A neutral, evidence-led comparison framework for Augusta Precious Metals and Birch Gold Group.

Two of the most heavily advertised gold IRA dealers compete for the same reader: Augusta Precious Metals and Birch Gold Group. Both sell gold and silver IRAs to someone with a 401(k) or IRA balance who is considering moving part of it into physical precious metals.

This article is not a ranking. It is a record of what each company publishes about itself, checked against its own public pages on August 30, 2026, and a list of the questions that close the gap between that material and an actual purchase decision. Where a figure is a company claim rather than an independently verified fact, it is labelled as one.

Disclaimer: The owners of this website may be paid by one or more of the companies reviewed on this site. The content on this website may not be neutral or independent.

Key Takeaways

  • Both dealers describe gold and silver IRA services with self-directed custody, IRS-approved custodians, and depository storage.
  • Neither publishes an account minimum, a setup fee, an annual administration fee, a storage charge, or a premium over spot. That is the single most important finding here.
  • Augusta’s pitch leads with process: salaried, non-commissioned educators and an education-first sequence, plus a Money magazine “Best Overall” award (2022–2026) and an Investopedia transparency recognition.
  • Birch Gold’s pitch leads with endorsement: political talk-show hosts led by Ron Paul, a stated “40,000+ Americans since 2011” figure, and an A+ BBB rating.
  • Birch Gold is the only one of the two to name its depositories publicly: Delaware Depository, Brink’s, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and International Depository Services.
  • Birch Gold also markets proof and limited-mintage collectible coins. Nothing about offering them is improper; being steered into them after a rollover funds is the pattern documented in gold IRA scams.

What Each Dealer Publishes

The table below reflects each company’s own public homepage on the date checked. “Not published” means the figure was absent, not that it does not exist.

Augusta Precious MetalsBirch Gold Group
Stated headquartersNot stated on the public homepageNot stated on the public homepage
Gold and silver IRAYesYes
Other metalsNot stated on the homepage (silver IRA page exists)Platinum, palladium
Direct (non-IRA) purchaseYesYes
Account minimumNot publishedNot published
Setup and annual feesNot publishedNot published
Storage costNot publishedNot published
Named depositoryNot named on the homepageDelaware Depository, Brink’s, Texas Precious Metals Depository, International Depository Services
BuybackNot stated on the homepageNot stated on the homepage
Public promotionFree 2026 Gold IRA guideFree 2026 information kit

Augusta Precious Metals

Augusta’s homepage states its positioning directly: “Your Premier Gold IRA Company,” with a Money magazine “Best Overall Gold IRA Company” award for 2022–2026 and an Investopedia “Most Transparent Gold IRA Company” recognition for the same period, both shown five times running. An A+ BBB rating and a claim of 4,000+ five-star ratings across Trustpilot and Google appear alongside them.

Its process pitch is specific. The site describes a three-step “education-first” sequence — a guide, a one-on-one call with a “salaried, non-commissioned” educator, then a decision — and states that its educators do not work on commission. It also runs a section addressed to people who have already spoken with another gold IRA company, warning about “free silver” offers that raise total cost, celebrity endorsements built into pricing, and high-pressure tactics.

That last section is worth taking seriously in both directions. The warnings are accurate as descriptions of this market — the same three patterns appear in regulator alerts and in our gold IRA scams guide. They are also marketing: the company identifies the industry’s most effective sales devices while deploying standard ones of its own. Award badges, “premier” framing, and review counts are the same category of persuasion, just quieter. As with any dealer, the figures that matter are the ones on an itemized quote, not the ones in a positioning statement.

What is not on the homepage: no fee schedule, no account minimum, no premium over spot, no named custodian, and no named depository. Since the custodian administers your account and the depository holds the metal, those two names matter — see our guide to gold IRA custodians for what each party is actually responsible for.

Birch Gold Group

Birch Gold’s homepage leads with endorsements. A banner states the company is “Endorsed by Ron Paul and trusted by 40,000+ Americans since 2011,” and a slider presents Steve Bannon, Clay Travis and Buck Sexton, Dan Bongino, Megyn Kelly, Lance Wallnau, and Chad Prather alongside Paul. The claim of 40,000+ customers since 2011 is a company figure, not an independently verified one.

Its product range is broader than Augusta’s on the homepage: self-directed precious metals IRAs holding gold, silver, platinum, and palladium; gold Roth IRAs; and direct purchase. It names four depositories — Delaware Depository, Brink’s Global Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and International Depository Services — the most concrete disclosure either site makes about where IRA metal actually sits. It carries an A+ BBB rating, ConsumerAffairs and Business Consumer Alliance badges, and a Trustpilot link.

Two items on that homepage deserve a second look before you act on them.

The endorsements. A paid endorsement says nothing about a dealer’s pricing, product mix, or complaint history. It establishes familiarity, and familiarity is what converts in this category — which is precisely why dealers buy it. Note the asymmetry with Augusta’s marketing: Augusta attacks celebrity endorsements as “built into pricing” while Birch Gold’s homepage is built on them. Both can be true. An endorsement is funded from somewhere, and the somewhere is the spread.

The collectible coins. The product grid mixes IRA-eligible bullion with proof and limited-mintage coins: proof Gold Buffalo, proof American Eagle sets, proof Gold Britannias, a fixed-mintage Britannia-and-Liberty silver issue. Proof coins carry far higher markups than ordinary bullion, and they sit at the center of the most frequently reported problem in this market — the switch from low-premium bullion to high-markup collectibles after an account funds. Nothing about offering them is improper. Being steered into them is the pattern to watch.

What is not on the homepage: no fee schedule, no account minimum, no premium over spot, no buyback terms, and no named custodian.

What None of Them Publishes

Strip away the branding and the two sites converge on the same omission. Not one publishes:

  1. A premium over spot. The percentage above the metal’s market price you pay on a specific coin. This is usually the largest single cost in a gold IRA and it is never printed.
  2. An account minimum. Widely repeated by third-party review sites, stated by neither.
  3. A setup or annual administration fee. Typically billed by the custodian, not the dealer — which is exactly why you must ask who bills what.
  4. A storage and insurance charge. Billed by the depository, and structured either commingled or segregated at different prices.
  5. A buyback spread. What the same item is worth back to the dealer today.

This is normal for the category rather than unique to these two, and our gold IRA fees breakdown explains each layer. But it does mean any article claiming to rank these dealers on cost or service is working from numbers the dealers did not publish. We are not going to do that.

How the Pitches Differ

The two companies are selling the same account structure with different persuasion.

Augusta sells trust in the process. Non-commissioned educators, an education-first sequence, third-party awards for transparency. The implied promise is that you will not be pressured. The unaddressed question is price: nothing about a sales process, however calm, tells you the premium over spot on the coins you are buying.

Birch Gold sells trust in the messengers. Endorsements from commentators whose audiences already distrust mainstream finance, plus longevity and volume claims. The implied promise is that people you trust vetted the company. The unaddressed question is the same one: what the metal costs over spot, and what the exit spread is.

Both pitches redirect attention away from the four numbers that determine total cost — the premium over spot, the account fees, the storage charge, and the buyback spread. Those numbers are set by the fee schedule and the quote, not by the pitch. The gold IRA fees guide breaks down each layer, and the gold IRA calculator models what a given fee structure does to a balance over a realistic holding period.

The Questions That Produce the Missing Numbers

Every figure above is obtainable. It just has to be asked for, in writing, before you authorise anything.

  • “What is the spot price you are using right now, what is the unit price of this coin, and what percentage over spot is that?”
  • “Please email me an itemised quote showing spot, unit price, quantity, and every fee, before I fund the account.”
  • “Which custodian administers the account and which depository holds the metal? Which of those charges is billed by them and which by you?”
  • “What is the minimum to open, and does it change if I add to the account later?”
  • “If I sold this exact item back to you tomorrow, what would you pay relative to spot, and is there any fee on top?”
  • “Is the storage commingled or segregated, and what does each cost per year?”
  • “Are you recommending bullion or collectible coins, and what is the premium difference between them?”

A dealer that answers all seven in writing has given you a real comparison. A dealer that will not put a premium over spot in an email has told you something too.

Where This Leaves the Two

Augusta competes on process and third-party recognition. Birch Gold competes on endorsement volume and discloses more about storage. Both are legitimate business structures selling the same IRS-recognized account, and neither has published the numbers that would let an outsider rank them on cost.

That is genuinely all the public record supports. The dealer that is cheaper for you depends on the premium over spot on your specific order, the custodian and depository fees attached to your specific balance, and the spread you face when you eventually sell — three numbers that vary by order, and none of which appear on either website.

Run the same written-quote request past both, plus the three dealers in our Goldco, American Hartford, and Noble Gold comparison. Then model the resulting fee structures in the gold IRA calculator. The comparison that matters is the one built from the quotes you collect, not the one printed on anybody’s homepage.

This article is educational and general in nature. It is not investment, tax, or legal advice. Verify current terms directly with each dealer, custodian, and depository before acting.

At the source

Check the numbers where they live.

The links below go directly to each company's own homepage, so nothing stands between you and its current terms. How Gold Unpacked handles advertising and compensation is set out in full on the disclosure page.

Check the numbers at the source.

How Gold Unpacked handles advertising and compensation is set out in full on the disclosure page.

Contact Gold Unpacked ↗